Day 80. The best long weekend ever.

So I’m on day 80 today. Last year I went about 3 months without drinking. That was the longest I went without drinking since being a teenager. Most people, even ‘normal drinkers’ rarely go longer than a week without drinking. So I am pretty damn pleased about the fact that soon I will beat my record, yippeeeee.

I am in a much better place than I was this time last week, when I was seriously contemplating drinking. I am ever so grateful that I didn’t. I don’t even want to think about it… Shudder. I feel happier and less stressed this week. It was a bank holiday here in Ireland at the weekend which meant I had Monday off work too.

My boyfriend and I went away for the weekend and we had the best weekend I’ve had in a very long time. We got up early each morning, explore the city, so lots of different exciting activities, eat amazing food, and listen to fantastic live music. We did go to pubs and restaurants, and my boyfriend had two drinks each night, but I wasn’t even tempted. I felt happier and more relaxed than I have in a very long time. We laughed so much, and I felt really connected to him – far more than I ever would have had I been drinking (though I probably would have thought that drinking wine together would have brought us closer, hah!)

And THEN on Monday I ran a 10k and finished it in 51 minutes – my fastest time ever. With very very little (I hadn’t run in weeks) training. I would never have achieved that a few months ago.

I have a work event at the weekend. I have yet to figure out how I will navigate it but I know I will not drink.

Sending lots of love out to you all 🙂

6 thoughts on “Day 80. The best long weekend ever.

  1. Well done! Alcohol doesn’t equal a good time. Good food, conversations and music is a perfect recipe for fun. I drink sparkling water with frozen berries and I am just as pleased.

  2. Congrats to you! You sound very happy and I am happy for you. Settling into a new skin, right? Looking forward to more confidence and joy along the way, too. You give me inspiration.

  3. Congratulations for persevering and staying on the good road. I enjoy that you always find that staying sober in the face of challenges pays off. Best wishes.

Leave a Reply

