I’m staring at a glass of wine.

My sister is after pouring herself one. She is just home from work. 

It looks amazing. There is condensation on the side of the glass. The liquid is pale yellow and looks like it would taste delicious. Just the right balance of sweet and crisp.

I can imagine what it would be like to take a gulp. The warmth of my throat, the flush that would come over my face. The pleasant feeling of slight numbness that would come over my body. The weightlessness of my mind.
I want lift it up and drink it. But at the same time I absolutely do not.
I don’t need to stupify myself in order to be happy. I can experience pleasant feelings all on my own.
It’s only a drink and this is my life.

4 thoughts on “I’m staring at a glass of wine.

  1. momma bee says:

    Nope you don’t want it…. your mind is trying to tell you you want it. I know you don’t, neither do I. Your life is the most important! Hugs

  2. A solid piece of advice I got early on was not to think about the first drink, but carrying it through to its logical conclusion – me being drunk. I try and think about how great I feel when I don’t drink, when I fall asleep and not pass out, and how great I feel when I wake up in the morning.

    • Hi Robert! Thanks for the great advice! You’re so right. That moment of perceived pleasure is exactly that – only a moment. What follows is not pleasurable. At all. In fact, it’s downright torture. Hope you are well 🙂

Leave a Reply

