What the hell do people do on Saturday nights?

It’s Saturday night and I am sitting at home with my parents who are drinking wine, while my younger sister and her friends get ready to go out. They’re drinking too. What I’m wondering is: what do people who don’t drink DO on weekend nights?

I really wanted to go out tonight and have some FUN! But there’s nothing for me to do. There are few people in the early to mid twenties who are interested in spending their Friday or Saturday nights sober. Well that I know of anyway! I’m gonna have to start up a sober party club πŸ˜‰

At least I’m still not drinking, I suppose πŸ™‚

4 thoughts on “What the hell do people do on Saturday nights?

  1. When I first got sober I hung out with recovery minded folks. I had never bowled before in my life, but when I got sober I joined a recovery bowling league and that is what I did every Saturday night for six months. After the six month period, I had a bit of sobriety under my belt and felt comfortable branching out and doing other things outside of the recovery group. In fact, I had not bowled again for some 20 or more years until a few years ago when my wife and I went out on a weekday afternoon holiday from work and went bowling.

    I found early on that there were just all of these things I had never done without drinking – like playing cards, or sports, and so forth. I enjoyed doing these things with sober folks at first, just to get the experience of doing them without alcohol or drugs. Now it is really pretty irrelevant to me whether folks are drinking or not when I am out for the evening with them.

    Today I worked all day and am pretty tired. We will likely watch a video this evening, read a bit, walk the dogs and get to bed early, and then tomorrow I will wake up refreshed for a coffee meeting with a colleague followed by a few hour bike ride.

    I recollect those years ago after a night of bowling, when I was driving home at about 12:00 PM and realizing – damn, I am sober, and I really enjoyed myself this evening!

    Doing things sober for the first time is not always easy, but after a bit of practice, I would not have it any other way.

    Best to you this evening

  2. Shan Mal says:

    It’s funny because I asked myself that very same question last week, ‘what do normal people do on Friday and Saturday nights?’. I haven’t been able to find an answer apart from drinking (can’t do that any more) and spending time with family (I have none). I think I’ll have to start up a sober club too πŸ˜‰

    • Hi Shan Mal,

      Hopefully we will soon be able to carve out our own fun sober activities! If you manage to start a sober club let me know what activities you organise πŸ˜‰ Stay strong πŸ™‚

      • Shan Mal says:

        I came across this video about a month ago, not sure if it’d be more fun sober or drunk though. Worth a try! πŸ˜‰

Leave a Reply

