It’s about time.

Hi.

I would tell you my name, but I can’t. But what I can tell you is:

I’m 24.

I’m female.

I’m Irish.

I’m part of a loving family.

I’ve a wonderful boyfriend.

I have a satisfying job.

I have a problem with alcohol.

I forget most of every night that I go out.

People (as far as I am aware) don’t know this.

I drink to celebrate, to relax, and to escape. To make my life ‘more exciting’. To feel.

I drink to waste my time, to fuel my anxiety, to decrease my motivation, to cause myself to feel shame.

To wonder what I said the night before. To worry what people think of me. To avoid those who I drink with for fear that they’ll remind me of what a state I was in.

I’ve wanted to stop drinking for over two years.

I suppose now is about time.

5 thoughts on “It’s about time.

  1. Art Mowle says:

    Now is always a good time 🙂 I drank for 43 years and my right time was 3/5/07. Don’t be as me.. Start and stay today. God bless.

    Art 🙂

    • Hi Art,

      Thank you for your kind message 🙂 congratulations on your sobriety! Getting sober after 43 years of drinking is something I can’t even fathom! That’s inspirational 🙂

  2. Youngfreesoberme,

    it’s awesome that you are only 24 years old and you are listening to yourself and your needs. I ignored my inner voice for so many years. I drowned out that voice of reason for many many years till I became 39 years old and still drunk on my way to becoming an even older sad drunk. I can’t take back my youth and give her a lovely life of sobriety but I am just so happy I am not ignoring my inner voice anymore. Hurray for you and your young sober self!

    • Hi myescape!

      Thank you so much for your comment. It made me feel really good, like I am doing the right thing. Our inner voices are so important but pretty easy to ignore. The more you ignore it, the easier it is to keep ignoring it. And makes me feel sick to my stomach sometimes when I really listen to it. I suppose that’s what brought me here, and hopefully I’ll keep listening to it and not convince myself that I’m being ridiculous, like I’ve been doing for the past two years. Thanks so much for your support and I look forward to learning more about you 🙂

Leave a Reply

